Today is my Birthday

Having a birthday when a third of the way through chemotherapy does put a perspective on the meaning of the day.  The elephant in the room of cancer’s ultimate consequence looms menacingly into view on days such as this.  Once seen though, it is time to send the pachyderm  out into the yard to play.

Over the past few years I have attended functions such as birthday parties and bar & bat mitzvahs where one of the attendees had cancer.  The rapturous celebration they displayed at have been able to attend one more thing escaped me at the time.  It has come fully into focus now.

They are all buried and gone.

I have a one more thing today and I intend to enjoy it!

-30-

Explore posts in the same categories: Cancer, Musing

Tags:

Responses are currently closed, but you can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.


